The 2021-2022 Team

The Geec team consists of a group of dedicated engineering students, all studying at the National University of Galway, Ireland. With support from lecturers in the College of Engineering at NUI Galway, the team continuously works to develop Ireland’s most energy efficient car, year on year.

Áine Mellin | Electrical & Electronic Engineer

The Team Manager, as well as the Power Electronics Lead, and Geec driver.

Eoghan O’Donoghue | Mechanical Engineer

The Lead for the front axle and steering project.

Owen O’Sullivan | Mechanical Engineering

The Lead for the Drivetrain Project

Samuel Opashi | Mechanical Engineer

The Rear Axle project Lead.

Aran Murphy | Mechanical Engineer

on drivetrain team & race strategy

Orla McAllister | Mechanical Engineer

bulkhead & rollerbar team + windows team

Maitias Ó Gríofa | Energy Systems Engineer

workbench & travel solutions & power electronics

Simon McHugh | Mechanical Engineer

Deputy Team Manager. rear axle team member & driver comfort

Rawand Afaghani | Mechanical Engineering

bulkhead and roll bar lead

Aaron O’Toole | Mechanical Engineer

race strategy lead. front axle & steering team

Aoife Murphy | Mechanical Engineer

rear axle team & work bench team


Eanna Wood – ?? (Deputy Team Manager & drivetrain team & race strategy)

Eoin Hernon | Mechanical Engineer

drivetrain team & windows lead

Lisa Finn | Mechanical Engineer

driver comfort and bulkhead teams

Luisa Forte | Mechanical Engineer

front axle steering & driver comfort lead

Séan Fahey | Electronic & Computer Engineer

race strategy & DAQ teams

Alice Shaughnessy | Biomedical Engineer

Aodhan Breathnach | Mechanical Engineer

Bhagya Bowatte | Biomedical Engineer

Bogdan Baturov | Mechanical Engineer

Ciaran Austin | Electronic & Computer Engineer

Dean Fadden | Energy Systems Engineer

Eva Debarros | Electronic & Computer Engineer

Lauren McMahon | Electronic & Computer Engineer

Liam Anthony | Biomedical Engineer

Rosanna Ni Chulain | Mechanical Engineer

Sarah Ryan | Mechanical Engineer

Kate Grehan

Gearoid Fahey

John Flannery

Eva Harmon

Eoin O’Donnell

Conaill Tuite

Maeve Kenny

Ryan McMahon Lynch

Niall O’Doherty

Conor McNamara

Szymon Borkowski

Dr Maeve Duffy | Electrical & Electronic Engineering Lecturer

Maeve Duffy advises the Geec engineering team on power electronics for the motor drive circuit, aa well as other electrical issues.


Martin Glavin | Lero


Prof Martin Glavin | Electronic & Computer Engineering Professor

Martin Glavin consults with the team on the data acquisition system, processing of data from sensors, and communications.


Dr Nathan Quinlan | Mechanical Engineering Lecturer

Nathan Quinlan provides recommendations to the team on aerodynamics, the drivetrain, and general mechanical engineering design.


Dr Rory Monaghan | Energy Systems and Mechanical Engineering Lecturer

Rory Monaghan supervises Geec projects on vehicle energy system modelling and the monocoque design.

Are you an alumni of the Geec team? Join the alumni LinkedIn group here.

Considering joining the team? Send us an email at, or reach out to us on any social media @thegeec.