The 2020-2021 Team

The Geec team consists of a group of dedicated engineering students, all studying at the National University of Galway, Ireland. With support from lecturers in the College of Engineering at NUI Galway, the team continuously works to develop Ireland’s most energy efficient car, year on year.

Adam Fahey | Electronic & Computer Engineer:

Having been on the team for 4 years, Adam has been involved with various aspects of the car. His FYP is on the motor controller, where he developed a system level model of the Geec, to allow for analysis of power loses.


Áine Mellin | Mechanical Engineer:

Áine worked on the monocoque of the Geec when she joined the team in 2nd year. 3 years later, she is the current driver of the car, and creating an ergonomic cockpit design for her final year project.


Aoife Prendergast | Electronic & Computer Engineer:

Starting out as the team accountant 4 years ago, Aoife is now the Geec team leader. She is coordinating the involvement in the Shell Eco Marathon Virtual Off Track Awards for 2021. Aoife’s FYP is based around a data acquisition system to transmit live data to the team wirelessly.


Enda Kilgarriff | Electronic & Computer Engineer:

Enda is working on data acquisition, more specifically a webapp to attain real time data, as his FYP. Over his 4 years on the team, Enda has been the team photographer, involved with manufacture of the monocoque, and had various communication roles.


Eoin Kennedy | Mechanical Engineer:

Eoin is finalising the design for the Geec 4.0. This year, he is working on secure seatbelt mounting, structural driver protection, and attaching the front axle of the car to the carbon fibre monocoque.


Killian Foxe | Mechanical Engineer:

This is Killian’s first year on the Geec team. He is primarily working on the aerodynamic design of the car.


Paul Kielty | Electronic & Computer Engineering:

Paul has been on the team for 3 years, working on the data acquisition system. He 3D prints components for the car, even running the printer live on site at the Shell Eco-Marathon in 2019.


Aran Murphy | Mechanical Engineer:




Ciarán McDermott | Electronic & Computer Engineer:



Orla McAllister | Mechanical Engineer




Maitias Ó Gríofa | Energy Systems Engineer




Simon McHugh | Mechanical Engineer


Aaron O’Toole | Mechanical Engineer



Aoife Murphy | Mechanical Engineer



Eoin Hernon | Mechanical Engineer



Lisa Finn | Mechanical Engineer




Luisa Forte | Mechanical Engineer



Séan Fahey | Electronic & Computer Engineer

Alice Shaughnessy | Undenominated Engineer

Bhagya Bowatte | Undenominated Engineer


Bogdan Baturov | Undenominated Engineer



Dean Fadden | Energy Systems Engineer



Lauren McMahon | Electronic & Computer Engineer

Dr Maeve Duffy | Electrical & Electronic Engineering Lecturer

Maeve Duffy advises the Geec engineering team on power electronics for the motor drive circuit, aa well as other electrical issues.


Martin Glavin | Lero


Prof Martin Glavin | Electronic & Computer Engineering Professor

Martin Glavin consults with the team on the data acquisition system, processing of data from sensors, and communications.


Dr Nathan Quinlan | Mechanical Engineering Lecturer

Nathan Quinlan provides recommendations to the team on aerodynamics, the drivetrain, and general mechanical engineering design.


Dr Rory Monaghan | Energy Systems and Mechanical Engineering Lecturer

Rory Monaghan supervises Geec projects on vehicle energy system modelling and the monocoque design.


Are you an alumni of the Geec team? Join the alumni LinkedIn group here.

Considering joining the team? Send us an email at, or reach out to us on any social media @thegeec.

See Previous Teams: